Results


17 Matches Found.

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, Reissue November 2017.

This second installment of The Best Small Fictions, edited by series editor Tara L. Masih and guest editor Stuart Dybek, continues to celebrate the diversity and quality captured in fiction forms fewer than 1,000 words. Forty-five acclaimed and emerging writers--including Alberto Chimal, Toh EnJoe, Kathy Fish, Amelia Gray, Etgar Keret,... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, Reissue November 2017.

Featuring spotlights on Pleiades journal and Michael Martone, this international volume—with Pulitzer Prize-winning author Robert Olen Butler serving as guest editor and award-winning editor Tara L. Masih as series editor—is a celebration of the diversity and quality captured in fiction forms fewer than 1,000 words.

It takes many small... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, January 30, 2018.

Ewa Hryniewicz-Yarbrough arrived in the United States from Poland in 1984, bringing memories of life under a totalitarian regime, where the personal was always political. In essay after essay in Objects of Affection, her remarkable debut, Hryniewicz-Yarbrough shows the immigrant’s double perspective, exploring a “bi-polar” world of displacement and rootlessness,... more

Price: $13.00

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, October 10, 2017.

With the publication of Remember to Forget Me comes the highly anticipated follow-up to Kerry Neville’s award-winning debut, Necessary Lies. In this new volume, Neville peers with a steady eye into the universal struggle to lead a life of purpose and dignity. In "Zorya," we are drawn into the world... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, July 11, 2017.

Every Single Bone in My Brain is an enthralling debut story collection—by turns electric and thoughtful, comic and wise. A young music journalist tries to avoid becoming a band groupie, only to discover she has far more to offer to their music than she realized. A Jewish teenager gets involved... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, September 2017.

The Best Small Fictions is the first contemporary anthology solely devoted to honoring the best short hybrid fiction published in a calendar year. The series began in 2015, featuring seasoned and emerging writers. Flash, micro fiction, prose poetry, and haibun stories are just some examples of the hybrid forms honored.... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, February 2017.

In story after story of this highly anticipated collection, Geeta Kothari lays bare an America deeply uneasy about its heterogeneity. In “Small Bang Only,” a man from the former Yugoslavia struggles to come to terms with his wife’s successful career in America only to find the resolution to his grief... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, September 2016.

People trying to fit in, to belong, to find a place to call home. It’s an idea as simple to understand as it is difficult to achieve. And in Michael Leone’s carefully observed new collection, it arrives with insight, sensitivity, and a sly humor that snaps your head back mid-laugh... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, June 28, 2016.

Called “the mighty Sasquatch of American Fiction” by Michael Chabon, renowned literary outlaw Chuck Kinder steps once again onto the landscape of American letters with the paperback reissue of his 1979 novel, The Silver Ghost. Available from Braddock Avenue Books, June 2016.

Jimbo Stark, teenage soldier of fortune, loves,... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, February 2016.

Synopsis:

Set near the Maine coast, Rachel May’s taut and probing new work of fiction, The Benedictines, conjures up the spirit of Sara Orne Jewett’s atmospheric landscapes. With prose that will have you turning pages in anticipation, May follows Annie James, a passionate, young artist whose decision to take... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, April 2015.

Nick Ripatrazone writes the kind of stories that sneak up on you as they build quietly and relentlessly to their explosive ends. Moving with dark, deliberate energy, Ripatrazone's work digs beneath ordinary lives simmering with the unforgivable hurt of broken dreams and missed opportunities and with the dangerous pull of... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Alleyway Books, November 3, 2014.

Synopsis:

Like his mentors Chuck Kinder and Lewis Nordan, Michael Gerhard Martin writes deeply textured stories that take you into the minds and souls of the people you see in discount stores, grocery aisles, and gas stations. In the tradition of Raymond Carver, Martin's tales give dignity and grace... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, February 2014.

What saves us? It’s a question as old—and as urgent—as humanity itself. With this remarkable book, award-winning poet, essayist, and short story writer Gary Fincke opens an exciting new chapter of his career. Structured as a novel-in-stories, How Blasphemy Sounds to God explores our capacity for loyalty and love as... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, November 7, 2013.

SYNOPSIS:

Walter Farnham is on a mission. Only he doesn’t know it. Living above the garage of his former wife and her new husband, Walt has never been one to finish things, not even a divorce. In fact, the closest he’s come to a steady anything is as caretaker... more

Price: $16.95

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, August 8, 2013.

Like the existential quest of Richard Wright’s Bigger Thomas or Dostoevsky’s Raskolnikov, Anita Palatino’s journey is one you won’t forget. In this gripping new novel, Catherine Gammon will take you into the psychological danger zone of desperate longing and unfulfilled desire before returning you safely home.

Set in New... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, PA: Braddock Avenue Books, March 2013.

Get ready. These are not your mother's bedtime stories. In this mesmerizing debut collection, Aubrey Hirsch will lead you into the darkest recesses of human life, where hope and longing and love and loss look all too much like one another. Each of these sixteen stories may be filled with... more

Price: $16.00

Braddock, Pennsylvania: Braddock Avenue Books, October 2012.

“It was supposed to be the greatest night of our lives.”
 
It’s the eve of the Obama election.  Change is in the air and hope is running high.  And for twenty-five-year-old, self-proclaimed cool man Michael Bishop, so is the alcohol and the bluster.  Working a dead-end job proofing subtitles... more

Price: $16.00